h1

Yoink!

April 27, 2009

itcrowd4501

Still can’t quite believe it– we won a BAFTA!  Thank God my wife forced me to go to the ceremony!

Thanks to BAFTA for the nomination and the judges for ruling in our favour. I worship ‘Peep Show’, am hugely enjoying ‘The Inbetweeners’ and the only thing better than the first series of ‘Outnumbered’ was the second series of ‘Outnumbered’. It really was the “group of death”, and I can’t believe we came through unscathed. A small mercy was that the awesome ‘Pulling’ was not, for some unfathomable reason, in the running. Had it been, well…I don’t like to think about it.

Thanks to Talkback, and to Channel 4 who stood by the show when no-one would have blinked if they walked away early on.  Thanks also to all those online who passed on their congrats, and apologies to those whose enjoyment of the TV coverage was spoiled by my premature Twittering (one of the unforseen hazards of the Twitter deal, I guess). Also, sorry if you posted a complimentary tweet and I didn’t get back to you. At one point they were just gushing in and it was impossible to keep up.

Of course, a salty salute to the cast and crew for all their hard work over the last few years. It’s really very moving for me, seeing a large group of professionals working as hard as they possibly can to make some ridiculous concept of mine come to life. Thank you all, whatever series you worked on.

Last but not least, thanks to all the people who came and sat in the audience and provided us with our laugh track. Every so often I’ll hear the old “I don’t need to be told where to laugh” line trotted out, but those who utter it are missing the point. The audience is not there to tell you where to laugh, the audience is there to remind us to be funny. And you have done your job admirably. Because, well, I don’t know if I mentioned it or not, but…we won a BAFTA!

One comment

  1. […] faboo news is that IT Crowd actually won a BAFTA! Graham deserves the recognition 100%. I can’t wait to see another season of computer based […]



Comments are closed.