h1

MGMT- ‘Time To Pretend’

March 8, 2008


I’ve been loving this song for a while now, but this video has turned MGMT into my new favourite band. As Spinal Tap said, there’s a thin line between clever and stupid, and this video hoovers that line right up. It’s so daringly, hilariously pretentious that it just leaps out of our world and immediately enters them into the orbiting hall of lunatic rock fame. Think Bowie walking along the beach dressed as a Pierrot clown (My Dad, from the armchair: “Oh, for God’s sake”), or even The Jacksons as space giants, and you get the idea. Link to MGMT video

(I love the sentiments in the song too, a hilariously fatalistic approach to what they see as their inevitable success combined with a lament for the end of childhood that is hugely moving: I’ll miss the playgrounds and the animals and digging up worms/I’ll miss the comfort of my mother and the weight of the world/I’ll miss my sister, miss my father, miss my dog and my home/Yeah, I’ll miss the boredom and the freedom and the time spent alone.)

One comment

  1. […] Time To Pretend by MGMT. I’m just going to quote Graham Linehan on this one: I’ve been loving this song for a while now, but this video has turned MGMT into my […]



Comments are closed.

