h1

Bite my shiny metal chump, Facebook!

January 15, 2008


I shut down my Facebook account a while back because it was proving a massive drag on my time and energies.  Friendspam, as I’ve been calling it ever since the start of this sentence, is horrible for all sorts of reasons, but Tom Hodgkinson’s piece in yesterday’s Guardian points out a few you may not be familiar with. (Is it all right to end a sentence with ‘with’? I never know. It looks all right. Oh, what the hell, leave it.)

UntitledGreat piece. I’m not sure about some of his arguments: “Why would I want to waste my time on Facebook when I still haven’t read Keats’ ‘Endymion’?” he asks. Not reading Keats’ ‘Endymion’ is a task I look forward to achieving every day. But I know what he means; even reading ‘Endymion’ is preferable to getting a million invitations a day to “start biting chumps”.

By the way, I’d like to take this moment to apologise to all those friends of mine who joined Facebook because I told them it was the greatest thing in the world.

