h1

Evening Standard needs to apologise again, already

May 28, 2009

phase3_9205

Yesterday, I saw the above advert on the side of a bus, and I had to ask around to make sure I wasn’t hallucinating.

I just want to be absolutely clear here..I’m getting used to being left behind by changes in modern mores–but is this really OK with everyone? We’re all cool with the Standard using this term to describe the recent G20 clashes? Are the police and those who were injured by the police happy to have this image and slogan used? Are Londoners OK with seeing this kind of violence compared to a football match, a match we can all enjoy when it ‘kicks off’ again? (The inference being that it surely will).

But what I really want to know is whether the new editors of the Evening Standard, fresh from a campaign where they (quite rightly) apologised for being shit, are happy to sell newspapers in this way? Even though Ian Tomlinson, one of their own vendors, was fucking KILLED during this trouble? Because if they are, then their apology counts for nothing, as they obviously intend to continue to be a negative, and now inflammatory,  influence on London life.

(Thanks to @badjournalism for reminding me about the Tomlinson connection.)

One comment

  1. [...] By thereminwar Graham Linehan’s blog bought my attention to this advert that has appeared on London’s buses and tube trains:This [...]



Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 476 other followers

