h1

The Office and The IT Crowd

October 2, 2008

The IT Crowd is getting some nice reactions as it gets shown on IFC in the States, and some unpleasant ones, but what on earth is making everyone over there think it has something to do with ‘The Office’? In what way is ‘The IT Crowd’ remotely like ‘The Office’? ‘The Office’ was a naturalistic, single camera, observational show filmed in an innovative style. ‘The IT Crowd’ is a surreal, multi-camera, old-fashioned studio sitcom. I don’t understand–why are the two being grouped together?

What’s particularly galling about this is that I did everything in my power to make sure that ‘The IT Crowd’ was as far away as possible from the naturalism of ‘The Office’ (because I wanted the show to stand out, and I felt like doing a silly, unreal sitcom). I can’t tell you how weird it is to read The New York Times accusing it of being a copycat crime.

But I guess that’s the same kind of attention to detail that led to their diligent reporting on the run-up to the Iraq war… and well done again for that you fuckwads. (Ha! You see why I try not to read negative reviews? Brings out the twelve-year-old in me).

Anyway, there was one scene I did copy from ‘The Office’. Here’s the original.

…and here’s how I adapted it for my show.

One comment

  1. […] Graham Linehan tells all about how he ripped off Ricky Gervais’s The Office here. […]



Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 595 other followers

