h1

Death and The Mall

August 30, 2007

The inspiration for Richmond came when I saw a teenage goth couple playing crazy golf in…God, Blackpool, was it? Somewhere like that. In my memory, the guy has a huge skull on the back of his T-shirt and white make-up, long buckled-up boots, the whole bit…and he was very carefully writing down his score with one of those tiny pencils while standing beside a miniature windmill.

In the end, my Richmond has been bouncing back and forth between extremes…I never know how far to push the make-up, but this picture suggests that, when it comes to real life, there is no such thing as ‘too far’.

rsz_2deathmetal_mall.jpg

19 comments

  1. Perhaps he has the long tongue necessary to be able to pull off the KISS look.


  2. Yeah is quite KISS-like alright. He looks lonely.


  3. It’s almost Pagliacci-esque. Man, creativity all comes down to weird juxtapositions, doesn’t it? That and things found in a food court…


  4. Richmond is definitely one of my favourite characters in the show. I knew a guy who looked (and acted) almost exactly like him in high school. Never be afraid of taking it too far with a character. Life is stranger than fiction.


  5. How do you know this isn’t a demon or spirit caught on tape? Did anyone serve him?


  6. Hi Graham

    I confess to being a something of a goth some thirty years ago. All I can say is: there’s no such thing as too far!

    Great to see the poster for Open Rights Group in the new series! Lovely prominent position too. Do you have a mole in our organisation? Or do we have one in yours? ;-)

    Looking forward to tomorrow night.

    And if you ever feel the inclination to hook up with geek central (ORG has literally hundreds of them), drop me a line…


  7. Goths– battling against conformity by…dressing the same.
    Unfortunately, I knew some in my skater days.
    One time a goth kicked my football with his stupid comedy-sized boot and burst it. Stupid goth. Stupid!


  8. He applies make-up better than I do, such precision.


  9. At what age does the Goth leave you? Anyone ever seen a 25+ year old Goth? 40?! Robert Smith doesn’t count since it’s his look they’ve knicked!


  10. Did I really spell nicked with a k? Hmmm…


  11. As an ex-goth, I should point out it was never about ‘battling against conformity’, we just liked dressing in black and listening to ostensibly gloomy music (although most goth bands had a few comedy covers in their arsenal – The Sisters of Mercy’s ‘Jolene’ being a particular favourite).

    People always used to say ‘well how would you like it if everyone dressed like a goth’, the answer to which was ‘that would be quite nice, as perhaps we wouldn’t get spat on in the street quite so much’.

    I do think the americans have gone a bit mental with the whole thing though, bless ‘em, a bit of eyeliner and foundation was quite enough in my day.

    Yours, Colonel Dirge (retired) Goth Warlord of Derby 1991-94 (weekends only).


  12. PS: I decided twenty three was a venerable age to quit – mainly because I getting a bit porky, and a fat goth lets the whole side down, frankly.


  13. Yours, Colonel Dirge (retired) Goth Warlord of Derby 1991-94 (weekends only).

    heh


  14. looks to me like he’s on his way to a kiss convention.
    i can only assume he’s saving those seats for the rest of the band, who are still queuing for tea.

    cheer up, goth!


  15. We have been saying it for years – Metal Ruins Lives! http://www.metalnames.blogspot.com


  16. Meatloaf’s really let himself go, hasn’t he?


  17. Aww, the poor bloke’s all on his own!

    I’ve noticed that whenever I go out, whether wearing my dog collar or too much pink, I am subject to uncomfortable glances, but I think that the goth part of me sort of welcomes that, so I suppose the more makeup and the more people to stare, the happier the goth.
    Richmond probably is my favourite character, my parents accused me of having a “Noel Fielding tribute haircut” at one point (pure accident).

    Really loved episode one of the new series, I reckon it is looking better than series one so far, and the taping of Moss And The German was ace, I’m well looking forward to the rest of the series. :D Well done!


  18. Sorry to spoil your fun but that picture is from an anime convention called Necokon so costumes weren’t all that unusual even though I don’t see that kind of black metal -style blending in… anywhere. Nekocon was held in my hometown of Kuopio, Finland in 2006 and that is the only reason I know the origin of the pic… I hate anime.


  19. Thats no Goth… Where’s his HEAT Magazine?



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 595 other followers

